Friday, November 5, 2010

Federman and Beckett...

both self-translators and friends. In his wonderful memorial essay samuel beckett: the gift of words, written shortly after Beckett's death, Raymond Federman shares his memories and gives us insight into their friendship and Becketts struggle with his self-translations. Please read the essay here..

3 comments:

davidwdetrich said...

I am a novelist, and I am thinking of translating my book "The Convergence of Two Narrative Lines Ascending" into French. A publisher in France expressed interest, and I have begun with Google Translate, which is producing some nicely translated lines, yet I will need someone to do the final translation to make sure the lines are in proper French. This novel is in the tradition of Raymond Federman and Maurice Roche, and I think it continues the avant garde trend of Tel Quel, with numerous allusions to the Surrealists.

CruizD said...

Hi,

Great blog! I'm currently doing a research project on self-translation of 'n Droe Wit Seisoen by Andre Brink for my English Honours, and you provided some great information on the act of self-translation.

Thanks, and all the best with your research!

Eva said...

Hi Cruiz D I would be very intersted in learning more about you research project. Also would you be interested in writing a guest blog entry about Andre Brink?